Quantcast

PS3 & PSP Activations Are Changing

Posted by on November 4th, 2011 | 0 Comments | Tags:

In a post on the PlayStation Blog, starting November 18th you’re going to have to consolidate the devices you activate your PSN account on. In a move obviously designed to both appease developers and cut down on game sharing, SCE has announced that all game content purchased after November 18th will only be playable on the following;

  • PS3: Users will be able to play the game on up to 2 activated PS3 systems.
  • PSP: Users will be able to play the game on up to 2 activated PSP systems.

Please note that this update will not affect game content purchased before November 18.  The PSP rights include PSP-1000/2000/3000 series as well as the PSPgo system.

Of course, this news is going to effect everybody differently. If you have one account and one console, then this doesn’t effect you in the slightest. If you, say, write for a web site where you all put game codes in one communal account and take games to review from there… this is slightly problematic. However, this is certainly good news for developers wary of game sharing.

There’s also some better news in the post on the PlayStation blog, stating that Sony “plans to provide a new PlayStation Network account management website where users will be able to deactivate particular devices attached to their PlayStation Network account via their PC.” This means that all you PS3 or PSP owners with dead or lost consoles will finally be able to reclaim those activation slots, which really is excellent news. It seems Sony is moving in the right direction with PSN, and hopefully there are more improvements to come.